Van Hage Garden Centre

As you can see by the giant parkas and mittens in these photos, this post is only slightly belated… by about six months. Though we have had a rather poor excuse for a summer here in England, so you never know.

IMG_2509

Anyway, back when the temperatures were a bit lower, we enjoyed a fun day out at Van Hage Garden Centre in Great Amwell in honor of one Mr. Dylan turning three years old. The main attraction was the miniature railway, complete with a conductor and manning station. Also, let’s not forget our old pal Boris.

IMG_2518 IMG_2525 IMG_2520 IMG_2512

After a few trips around the track, we wandered over to the mini zoo. Dylan is the proud older brother of two very beautiful bunnies so he was right at home feeding and petting these giants. I think they may have been the largest rabbits I’ve ever seen. Apologies if I have used the terms “rabbit” and “bunny” incorrectly here, Kathryn. But I’m sure you have come to expect these things from me at this point (cough *Renault* cough*).

IMG_2534 IMG_2528 IMG_2538

The display of animals was both impressive and incredibly odd as they had quite the random collection. Lena and Dylan tried chasing a chicken nearly as tall as them despite our warnings that they might very well lose an eye or a nose. Completely unfazed. I thought the accommodations for the goats and chickens very cozy and colorful even if it was covered in feces.

IMG_2547 IMG_2549 IMG_2556 IMG_2551 IMG_2574 IMG_2575

I think Dylan enjoyed it but you can never be quite sure. He’s a very quiet and reserved child.

IMG_2576 IMG_2581

After nearly suffering from frostbite, it was off to a nearby pub for a delicious lunch. Jason ordered what he thought was a coffee and it turned out to be an espresso since he didn’t think to consult me first. Being from the birthplace of Starbucks, I know a thing or two about this subject. So I just thoroughly enjoyed watching him choke down this tiny cup of brown liquid while he lovingly gazed at me. Or maybe he was shooting me dagger eyes. You never know with that guy.

IMG_2584

Happy 3rd Birthday, D Man! I realize you are closer to four as I write this but better late than never, right?! Cheers!

IMG_2591

Leave a Reply

