Easter 2015

Before each midterm break, Lena’s school hosts a “Stay & Play” where parents can come in with younger siblings for a couple hours of themed activities, contests and treats. We got an email asking everyone to make an Easter bonnet for the school competition and since I’m never 100% sure the translation is correct, I actually googled the term. And before you think I’m crazy, let me just give you a few examples of words that are different between British English and American English.

  • crisps = chips
  • chips = fries
  • biscuit = cookie
  • nappy = diaper
  • dummy = pacifier
  • pants = underwear (this one gets really awkward when you want to compliment someone on a nice outfit)

Anyway, you get the point. Plus there are all sorts of traditions here that I am still learning so I didn’t want my kiddo to be the only one not in-the-know. So, I got to work making an Easter bonnet and since I was totally stressed out over Jason’s work schedule, I went completely overboard and turned it into a massive art project. Lena was ultimately unimpressed but it did help calm me down and she looked awfully cute wearing it. So I’m calling it a win.

IMG_3023 IMG_3027 IMG_3031 IMG_3134IMG_3142

On Easter morning, I woke the kids up with requests for bunny ear pictures and mentioned it looked like the Easter bunny had left some stuff downstairs. Lena was giddy and happily posed for photos which will likely be made fun of in her future. Aksel was a bit more hesitant but as he lacks the coordination to pull off the ears, he got to join in the fun as well.

IMG_3159 IMG_3165

I hid an inappropriate amount of eggs around the house and had the kids’ Easter baskets set up on the table waiting to be discovered. Lena doesn’t quite fall into the advanced category when it comes to looking for things so the “hiding” places were more like “exposure” places. There are few things more aggravating than watching a three year old attempt to find an object right in front of their nose. It’s like their brains shut down and their hearing is cut in half. It truly is baffling.

IMG_3172 IMG_3177 IMG_3175 IMG_3179 IMG_3181

Also, because I was not in the mood for a sugar meltdown (and also because I’m a little cheap and lazy), I purchased no candy for said Easter eggs. Instead, I got creative. Borrowing from last year as well as Lena’s piggy bank, half the eggs were filled with small coins. A few were stuffed with stale candy pieces from her school party only because I knew she wouldn’t eat them. Two large eggs had “sprinkles” (also known as small packets of Chia seeds). And finally, there were rocks from our garden with a few fancy polished stones thrown in for good measure. I think this idea was both genius and hilarious particularly when she told me, “Mama! This rock is matching to the rock from Mormor’s house!” Yes, yes it is, my child.

IMG_3182 IMG_3189 IMG_3204 IMG_3193 IMG_3210

And before you call someone about my terrible (I would say genius) parenting, I did make her a nutritious breakfast served up on Very Hungry Caterpillar dishware. You know it’s a special occasion when you get to eat on a real plate.

IMG_3212

After listening to the Easter story at church, we had another egg hunt and this time, there was chocolate involved. Lena and Dylan were maniacs, hunting down all the paper eggs and trading it in for a couple massive Cadbury eggs. I’m still amazed that I can get Cadbury products year round here in England. As a kid, I would eagerly anticipate Springtime knowing the delicious chocolate ovals would soon be mine for the eating. Just another reason the UK is a great place to live, I suppose.

IMG_3215 IMG_3221 IMG_3231

The kids also helped plant an Easter garden with the help of Mummy Kathryn. Surprisingly, no one got dirty or fell down which might be a record of some sort. I also think this may be one of the only photos of us together. My goal this year is to get more pictures with my friends and I think I’m off to a pretty great start with this capture. Then the kids jumped off some tombstones, as you do.

IMG_3248 IMG_3251 IMG_3260 IMG_3267 IMG_3273

I really couldn’t help myself and dressed up my little monsters in coordinating outfits. There are way more photos of this duo than I’ve posted here and by the end, Lena’s sarcastic side came out in full force. I have no idea where she gets it from.

IMG_3291 IMG_3298 IMG_3301

One thought on “Easter 2015

Leave a Reply

