January 2015

So apparently having two kids means twice the work and half the free time! It’s hard to believe Aksel has been with us for three months already. Life is more or less back to normal now with Jason back to work and Lena back at school. I have no idea how I would have even gotten to this point if not for Jason; he really is the most selfless human I know. For the first month after Aksel was born, he basically took care of everything and that’s not even a slight exaggeration. We had hot meals and snacks throughout the day (many times served to me in bed), the house was kept clean and tidy, laundry was done and put away, Lena got more one-on-one attention than she could even handle, and he still found time to take Aksel so I could shower and catch up on sleep. All of this on top of working full time and going to school. And if he knew I was bragging about him like this, he would be horribly embarrassed which makes him even more lovable. I am just the luckiest! Also, check out the lashes on this guy – he passed them down to both my babies and it makes me simultaneously melt and turn green with envy. IMG_2123 copy

Aksel is an angel and if I could clone him, I’d take 50 more. Aside from being ridiculously cute, the child sleeps. Like legitimately sleeps; sometimes for five hours at a time. For the first couple years of Lena’s life, I was waking up every two hours (minimum) to either nurse her or console her unfounded crying. Thank you Jesus for taking pity on my sanity as I’m not sure I would have survived another slumber terrorist. Lena is still completely in love with her little brother and is adamant about being his second mama. If he’s crying, she’s quick to give him cuddles and shove (yes, shove) a pacifier in his mouth. If he spits up, she tries to wipe his face though many times, it looks more like a suffocation attempt. And if he needs a diaper change, she will loudly proclaim, “Oh Aksel! You stink! Peeee-youuuu!” Not too bad for a little girl whose world just completely changed!

IMG_2109 IMG_2130 copy IMG_2112 copy

Living in a completely different country as the rest of our family means we don’t get to see everyone as much as we’d like. The cost alone to fly to Europe is insane so it makes sense that we didn’t have grandparents and cousins knocking down our door once Aksel was born. However, my mom’s flight attendant benefits mean she can fly for a fraction of the cost and luckily, she is crazy enough to want to spend her vacations “visiting ” us over here. When I say “visiting,” I really mean that she turns into a personal servant despite me telling her she doesn’t need to do anything. Here she is, in her element, doing a deep clean of my kitchen. She told me to delete this photo so obviously I’m sharing it here.

IMG_2153 copy

On top of continuously cleaning the kitchen after each meal, she probably did 50 loads of laundry during her two week stay, walked Lena to school each morning, helped out with Aksel, and tried to pay for every single outing. Hopefully I can live up to her legacy and someday do the same for my babies. Though I would just like to let them know they are never allowed to move away from me (children, take note).

IMG_2150 copy

Since Aksel is so easy going, we were actually able to make it out of the house quite a bit and go on a few adventures. I’ll save those for future posts as we saw some pretty cool things. My mom had never seen the winter gardens at Anglesey Abbey and I could go there every single day and not get tired of it. If I had any clue when it comes to gardening, this would be my dream. However, my house seems to be a horticultural graveyard so that’s probably a pipe dream. I even manage to kill succulents. Seriously.

IMG_2156 copy IMG_2165 copy IMG_2161 copy IMG_2160 copy IMG_2158 copy IMG_2172 copy

Now that Lena’s a bit older, she has the memory of an elephant. She remembered that Mormor likes chocolate (I think addiction is the proper word but I don’t want to label anyone). So when my mom showed up with two giant ziplock bags full of gourmet treats, Lena had basically found her soulmate. The amount of chocolate those two consumed would likely put the average person into a diabetic coma. After every meal, including breakfast, Lena would announce they should have a “little treat.” Ridiculous.

IMG_2174 copy IMG_2178 copy IMG_2177 copy IMG_2176 copy

For the duration of her stay, Lena snuggled up in the guest bed with my mom each night. Hardly a vacation, as I mentioned, especially when Lena wet the bed in the middle of the night; soaking both of them. I’m not even sure she’s ever done that before so it really was a special treat just for my mom. Lena also talks/screams in her sleep; a fun little habit Mormor got to experience several times a night. So Mama, thank you for taking one for the team. We love you!

IMG_2181 copy IMG_2200 copy IMG_2185 copy IMG_2183 copy

2 thoughts on “January 2015

  1. I can just hear Lena saying that they need to have a little treat. That is so cute!! BTW I am not sure how you’ve dealt with the sleep deprivation so long.

Leave a Reply

