Yellow and Grey Shower for Baby #2

I would just like to publicly profess (for the millionth time) that I have the best friends and family around. Right before heading back to England, my cousin, Laila Eva, hosted a baby shower for me and it was just perfect. Since we don’t know the gender of the bun in my belly, she used a grey and yellow color theme which I am now considering using all over my house as it was so pretty. A month or so prior, Laila Eva had created a Pinterest board and asked me to add anything I would like to see or do at my baby shower. She then somehow managed to include basically everything I had pinned while making it look completely effortless. Her attention to detail and thoughtfulness in planning the food definitely did not go unnoticed. I’m confident that at 21 years old, I would not have been able to pull off anything like this and as usual, I am just in awe of my beautiful, talented cousin.

Tove shower invite IMG_0923 IMG_0921 IMG_0926 IMG_0924 IMG_0927 IMG_0925 Untitled-1

In between all the mingling and hilarious birth talk happening around the house (ahem, Molly, Kristi, Liv and Kim!), the kids discovered a frog outside which was basically more exciting than Santa Clause himself. There was squealing, jumping and feeble attempts at holding the absolutely terrified little amphibian. I love Boden’s excited face – so dang cute!

IMG_0941 IMG_0942 IMG_0944 IMG_0929 IMG_0930 IMG_0931 IMG_0936 IMG_0938

We played just one game which I found absolutely hilarious. Everyone had to draw a picture of a baby while holding the paper to their forehead. Humans are so weird sometimes especially if you just step back and look at the things we do. Everyone was a good sport and I loved that it wasn’t your typical baby shower game (you nailed it again, Laila Eva).

IMG_0950 IMG_0952 IMG_0954

Lena was my little helper; opening all the presents and inspecting everything carefully. She was even gifted a few things which I thought was really sweet and thoughtful.

IMG_0945 IMG_0947 IMG_0960 IMG_0963 IMG_0964 IMG_0969

My dad’s sister, Sheryl, brought one of the most sentimental gifts and totally made me do an ugly cry in front of everyone. Basically, any sort of crying in front of a group horrifies me so a full blown ugly cry is my worst nightmare. As soon as I saw the picture frame, I realized Sheryl had given me some of my grandma’s cross stitch pieces. I remember staring at them as a little girl and thinking they looked like watercolor paintings. There were three pieces depicting a little boy and girl playing at the beach – exactly what my brother and I did every time we went to Grandma and Grandpa’s house on Raft Island. Cue torrential tears. Now the pieces are proudly displayed in Lena’s room; making me smile every time I see them.

IMG_0981 IMG_0988 IMG_0989

A big, giant thank you to everyone who came to the shower and for all the thoughtful gifts. I could not be more blessed!

IMG_1001 IMG_1012 IMG_1024 IMG_1037 IMG_1044 IMG_1051 IMG_1059 IMG_8753 IMG_8773 IMG_0919

Leave a Reply

