College Reunion – Part 2

Jessica had done her research before arriving in Great Britain and had mapped out a few places she really wanted to see. Cambridge was on the list along with a few specific destinations within the city. We tried out the Park and Ride for the first time and Lena was utterly ecstatic about riding on a bus. Rex, as usual, was just happy to be alive. I think he may rival Lena for the happiest baby ever; he rarely cried or fussed and delighted all of us with his diverse range of facial expressions.

IMG_3432 IMG_3587

The girls got a kick out of Poundland – the British version of the Dollar Store. Since we’ve been here a while, I’ve gotten used to things so it was fun to explore familiar places through new eyes. We booked a punting tour from a new company and followed them down a narrow walkway to hop on our punt.

IMG_3423 IMG_3436

This is Lena’s third or fourth time punting the River Cam and as you can see, she’s an old pro. At this point, we should be able to conduct tours ourselves after hearing the history so many times! The weather was fantastic, yet again, and I think Kim and Jessica really enjoyed getting the scoop on all the school rivalries and scandalous history between universities.

IMG_3443 IMG_3454 IMG_3485 IMG_3523 IMG_3552 IMG_8012

For lunch, we headed to the Eagle per Jessica’s request. It has a longstanding history but is most well known for being the “birthplace” of the discovery of DNA. The river tour was apparently just too much fun as both kids passed out directly afterwards. Having both of them asleep was a big treat and meant Kim and I could resort to our college shenanigans of annoying one another. She apparently has no sense of personal space when it comes to me so this is a lovely candid shot of me helping her establish some boundaries. I think she’s still scared of me. Love ya, Kimmy!

IMG_3575 IMG_3572 IMG_3574

After lunch, we picked up some cheese at the market and stopped in for the most delicious Belgian waffles in all of Suffolk. The vendors had added a new sign for proper ordering; apparently visitors to Cambridge lack manners. I’m actually surprised we managed to grab a photo of this uneaten waffle because it was a bit of a feeding frenzy after the first bite.

IMG_3603 IMG_3607 IMG_3608

The next day, Jason was kind enough to keep Lena so we had a bit more freedom to walk around and window shop. Lavenham apparently lent some buildings to the Harry Potter films so this was a non-negotiable for a day trip. It would be an understatement to define Kim and Jessica as Harry Potter fans. I actually think they look down on me as a human because I’ve never read the books and had no clue what they were talking about half the time we were in Lavenham. Half the day was spent being impressed by all the crooked buildings and the other half was dedicated to converting me to an HP fan. They’ve successfully converted me from the “never going to read it” club to the “maybe someday I’ll think about watching a movie.” No promises, though.

IMG_3643 IMG_3704 IMG_3686 IMG_3648 IMG_3656 IMG_8080 IMG_8084 IMG_3660 IMG_8091 IMG_3712

On the way home, we stopped in for a quick tour of the Abbey Gardens at Bury St. Edmunds. The light was incredible so the wanna-be photographer in me had a heyday. I got some beautiful photos of my friends that will hopefully be a special keepsake from their time in the East of England.

IMG_3761 IMG_8128 IMG_3768 IMG_8171 IMG_8177

Kim was battling a cold the majority of the trip and couldn’t seem to kick her cough. In the midst of my “photoshoot,” she went into a coughing fit and of course, I tried to capture every moment. In between struggling to breathe, she was yelling at me to stop taking pictures while I was trying not to pee my pants. Jessica was super amused by both of us and I’m sure she wishes we lived closer so she could have this much fun every day.

IMG_8161 IMG_8111 IMG_8117

The next day, the fearless threesome headed off to spend the last part of their trip in London. We stuffed ourselves with my homemade Nutella braid and Lena got all her last minute hugs and kisses out of the way.

IMG_8194 IMG_8036 IMG_8039 IMG_3799

Kim, Mama Ka-ka, and Baby Wek, we had so much fun hosting you! You are doing an amazing job with Rex and I have no doubts he will grow up to be a kind, compassionate and witty human just like the two of you. You’re welcome back anytime – let’s not wait another three years before we see each other again!

IMG_8053 IMG_8058

 

Leave a Reply

