Marbles Kids Museum

You’re about to be subjected to around thirty pictures of my toddler exploring a children’s museum. If you’re not a direct relative, I will not be offended if you choose to skip this blog post. If, however, you’re like me and can’t get enough of this little blue-eyed angel, then you’re in luck.

Wanting to tire Lena out before our long flight home, we took her to Marbles Kids Museum in Raleigh. I’m certainly no expert on children’s museums but I have to think this one ranks up there as one of the best. Over the course of a few hours, we explored everything from an enchanted woodland to a pirate ship to a hockey rink. Suffice it to say, Marbles is awesome.

IMG_5514

Melissa was kind enough to drive us despite the museum being located in the heart of Raleigh. We have a bit of a rocky road trip history together so I was really thankful when we arrived at the correct destination within a reasonable time limit. It’s still difficult to talk about, but there was an incident involving me, Lena, Melissa and Anna and a 6 hour detour to an Ikea we thought was on the way home to North Carolina. It turns out we were actually closer to Washington DC. And that’s all I have to say about that.

IMG_5517 IMG_5519 IMG_5523 IMG_5520

Lena made a beeline for the infant section – a closed off room painted to look like a magical woodland fantasy. There was only one other child in the room when we arrived and everything was going great until Lena discovered a secret treehouse cubby. Somehow, she suckered Melissa inside and then refused to let her out. Eventually, Melissa just had to make a run for it and Lena had such a meltdown, the other mom actually removed her child from the room. Ah, motherhood.

IMG_5526 IMG_5537

We decided a change in scenery might help so we moved on to the toddler area. Just like her GeeGee, Lena loved the old cars. I actually sat in this little red car for a solid thirty minutes while Lena entered and exited, checking all the buttons and knobs. This is standard for her. If you get the girl near a vehicle, she will be content for hours.

IMG_5540

While I realize I wasn’t quite the target audience of this particular museum, I still got excited at all the opportunities for play. There were fishing boats, a vet clinic, an ambulance and a fully “working” farm.

IMG_5542 IMG_5543

The amount of realistic detail was impressive and since Lena is equally as fond of animals as she is vehicles, we stayed in this section for a long time as well. I love watching her get excited about things and she was definitely in her element here.

IMG_5546 IMG_5549 IMG_5550

As a side note, can we all just pause for a moment and take a look at Melissa’s legs and try not to hate her? Thank you.

IMG_5547

Not wanting to miss out on the rest of the museum, we finally pried Lena away from the farm and did a quick run through the underwater submarine station. I got a little sentimental when Lena put on the smock to play at the water table because she looked like a miniature kindergartner. I realize she’s only two but these past couple years have flown by and it scares me that I’m going to wake up one morning to a teenager. Slow down, time!

IMG_5557 IMG_5552 IMG_5554IMG_5580

The second floor of the museum was geared towards older kids so we just did a quick run through of this section. Mostly, I took an obscene amount of photos of my little stinker. I know I’m her mom so I’m completely biased but really, if this isn’t the cutest most perfect face in the entire world, I don’t know what to tell you. Jason likes to make fun of me every time I say this but I feel confident that if she really weren’t cute, I would know it. And this kid is cute.

IMG_5588 IMG_5589 IMG_5590 IMG_5582

We finished off our day working on our fitness. Try not to be jealous of my angular facial structure. Not everyone can have such a chiseled second chin.

IMG_5598 IMG_5600

Jason’s life goal is for Lena to attend UNC and be a star basketball player. His undying love for Roy Williams and all things baby blue is affecting his parenting – I’ll have to watch him. However, Lena is pretty skilled with a ball and a hoop so I guess you never know…

IMG_5606

This last picture is for my mom. Big L, as she loves to be called, is a bit of a fitness fanatic. So I know she will appreciate that her Viking strength has been passed on to the third generation.

IMG_5615

If you have kids and are near Raleigh, definitely stop in at Marbles. Kids under one are free; otherwise it’s just $5. They also offer a military discount which is nice. For more info, check out their website here:

http://www.marbleskidsmuseum.org

IMG_5617

Leave a Reply

