Wench, beakers all around!

So, this happened in late June:

IMG_4145 IMG_4146 IMG_4147 IMG_4148 IMG_4149 IMG_4159 IMG_4164

Yes, that is Live Action Role Play, my friends. I felt like I was in the movie Role Models and it was amazing. Except I didn’t become a medieval Kiss character or compliment anyone on their whispering eye. I was too busy snapping photos of the top notch entertainment in front of me.

IMG_4172 IMG_4199 IMG_4193

This was actually Jason’s suggestion as everyone in his shop was mouth-breathing over the jousting event that was taking place at the Suffolk Game and Country Show. We were a bit skeptical as most of the events that have been popular among the military folk have been either horribly dorky or a massive letdown. However, we had nothing else planned for the day and we were both a little curious so we decided to just go for it.

IMG_4144 IMG_4211 IMG_4169 IMG_4205 IMG_4217 IMG_4212

The Bacon Bit was in her element as this particular show boasted animals and fair rides (oh joy). The work horses were impressive in sheer size and strength but Lena was more enamored with the sheep. We spent a solid part of the day going back and forth between the stalls and the sheep pen, offering up tasty bits of grass at each visit.

IMG_4239 IMG_4232 IMG_4234 IMG_4235

There was also a Punch and Judy show which managed to hold her attention for all of ten minutes. We’ve seen this at a few different fairs as it’s a very traditional, popular puppet show here in England. It features Mr. Punch and his wife, Judy, plus a few other characters depending on what the puppeteer or “Professor” prefers. Mr. Punch is violent and usually beats the other characters with a big, black baton while the audience participates by shouting out at him. This particular “Professor” was rather colorful in attire and well-versed on the history of the Punch and Judy show. Sadly, we had to leave before it was over as the jousting was about to begin.

IMG_4175 IMG_4182 IMG_4178

Despite our skepticism, the jousting was actually quite entertaining. I find the Brits hilarious as they maintain proper manners at all times. The knights and their attendants tried their best to rile up the crowd and get them involved but social decency took precedence so it was a quiet affair. Lena seemed intrigued and spent most of the show on Jason’s shoulders clutching onto his handlebars (also known as ears). As you can see, at one point, there were even flames involved in the show. And the knights actually hit each other with the jousting lances – that had to sting a little.

IMG_4185 IMG_4187 IMG_4196 IMG_4192

We checked out the rest of the stalls, had some oven-grilled pizza via a food truck and let Lena go on a few rides. Somehow, I made the mistake of going on one with her and nearly puked after the third trip around. It lasted 17 more rounds. Barf. After that, we decided to call it a day. I’ve always wanted to see Live Action Role Play and while I’m not sure this completely counts, I’m still going to check it off my bucket list.

IMG_4259 IMG_4243 IMG_4253

4 thoughts on “Wench, beakers all around!

  1. What a great adventure! I’ve always wanted to attend a jousting match, too. Here in the US we mostly get Monster Truck rallys instead, although, there are occassional Civil War reinactments. I love the photos.

    • Thanks for stopping by! And I’m glad you enjoyed the photos; I had so much fun taking them. Can you believe I’ve never attended a Monster Truck rally?! I’m not sure I can even call myself an American. Guess I’ll have to add it to my list 😉

Leave a Reply

