One month down [Part 2]

I am still in a bit of shock over our new place and that we get to live here. It’s a brand new house, 3 stories, with 4 bedrooms and a bathroom on each floor. The bathrooms may be my favorite part as they remind me of a hotel.

The Mac Daddy of showers

The Mac Daddy of showers

It’s by far the nicest house I’ve ever lived in – I feel like an official adult.

The shiny new kitchen

The shiny new kitchen

It’s about a 45 minute walk into the town center and the scenery is so beautiful. Lots of brick buildings, old churches, giant horse pastures and beautiful homes.

Newmarket

Newmarket

My cousin Tor is staying with us for awhile and a couple days after moving in, we walked into town to have a look around and pick up a few things.

Exploring High Street

Exploring High Street

We happened upon an outdoor market (I could kick myself for not taking pictures) and got to sample fresh cheeses and local produce. We also found a local butcher shop so we picked up some chicken and bacon for dinner. Tor enjoys cooking like the Sarge which has been great as I now have two people to take care of my dietary needs 😉

One of my personal chefs

One of my personal chefs

Back to our house, my only complaint is the size of the stairwell. It’s to the scale of a dollhouse.

World's most narrow staircase

World’s most narrow staircase

I really have no idea how the movers got anything up the stairs but they did it with the exception of my largest piece of furniture – a giant dresser. Despite the fact that these guys move stuff all day long for a living, the Sarge wasn’t convinced the dresser couldn’t be squeezed through the narrow stairwell. He suckered Tor into helping him get it stuck… I mean moving it up the stairs.

Not gonna happen

Not gonna happen

Obviously, it didn’t pan out and the amount of dents in the wall was a bit concerning. So we have a dresser in our living room but I’m going to find some way to make it work.

The Bacon Bit is getting more hilarious with each passing day. She’s started saying “Mama” now and then but for the most part, she just squeals at ear-shattering decibels. Our neighbors in North Carolina bought her a singing M&M last year and it has become her new favorite toy. Jingle Bell Rock will forever remind me of Christmas 2012 and will probably make Tor violently angry for the rest of his life as he’s not accustomed to hearing things repeated incessantly. She hits the button and then does her version of dancing. It includes turning in a circle with one hand in the air looking like a waitress.

She's got moves

She’s got moves

And it gets repeated all.day.long. Once your brain has been fried from listening to the awesome electric guitar riff from “M” (as we call him), it’s actually pretty funny.

Break it down, girl!

Break it down, girl!

Little Miss Bacon Bit has also taken a big interest in playing violin. Scout’s honor, I have not pressured her to do this at all. She’s just seen me teaching lessons and practicing my own violin and wanted to be a big girl and do the same. So I’ve let her play with her violin a little bit each day and have been absolutely astounded at how much she’s picked up just from observing me teach. These are pictures of the very first time we ever took it out and she got the violin under her chin and the bow on the strings.

My little virtuoso

My little virtuoso

Yes, I’m her mom so I’m a bit biased but seriously, I think she’s a genius!

Yes please!

Yes please!

Speaking of music, we went to an incredible Christmas show at Wembley Arena in London right before Christmas. Hillsong London had a free concert so we made the hour drive to see it and just barely got in before they sold out. They told the Christmas story through a variety of creative arts – singing, synthesizers, choirs, small orchestra, drumline, dance/hip hop and multimedia.

Hillsong Christmas concert

Hillsong Christmas concert

At one point, I looked over and the Bacon Bit was dancing with her hands in the air. It was one of those moments that I will remember forever; she was so pure and sweet and simply enjoying the story of Our Savior. It was an incredible reminder that, as her parents, we are responsible for teaching her Truth. Everyone was joined in worship and I couldn’t help but think how amazing it will be to do this forever once we pass on from this life. What an incredible God we have!

Hark! The herald angels sing...

Hark! The herald angels sing…

Our Christmas celebration was nice and quiet this year; we just did one gift for each of us which was perfect. Felt food for the Bacon Bit, thermal pants for Tor, a new onesie for the Sarge and a hairdryer for me.

Felt veggies from Ikea. I may be more excited than the baby

Felt veggies from Ikea. I may be more excited than the baby

Jingle bell time is a swell time!

Jingle bell time is a swell time!

I actually think this is hot. No joke.

I actually think this is hot. No joke.

We hosted dinner at our house for the Gilleys and made way too much food for the amount of people. Tor and I wanted a Norwegian Christmas meal while the Sarge wanted a Southern dinner. So we settled in the middle – Ikea meatballs, gravy, lingonberries and potatoes with ham, bread and some dips. Plus pecan pie and cheesecake for dessert.

Eat, drink and be merry!

Eat, drink and be merry!

I think I was the only one who didn’t feel sick after dinner but that’s just because my priorities were in line – gotta save room for the sweets!

Merry Christmas :: God Jul!

Merry Christmas :: God Jul!

One thought on “One month down [Part 2]

  1. Pingback: Hillsong Carols – Wembley Arena | Sarcastic Scandi

Leave a Reply

